Let's improve the library!

PortiusPortius Likes big books, cannot lie
edited August 2014 in Ideas
I've been a librarian for way too long now, and I've built up a little list of things that I think would improve the library experience for everybody involved. They're all pretty small changes, but they might help get people into culture and they'll definitely help make life more pleasant for librarians.

1. Automate approvals

There's a 300 day period after you publish a book for librarians to critique it. That's good, since it helps regulate quality. And if a book gets critiqued, it goes to the administration to decide if the critique is valid. That's also good, as a check on critiquing power. Here's the thing, though. Books go to the admin even if nobody critiques them, and they still have to be manually approved. This slows down the process a lot, which causes stress and annoyance for people who want to see their stuff finish up publication and for librarians who want to submit it for prestige. Plus, it means you can't rely on getting fastest growing library for the culture score on any given year. I don't think there's any need for manual approval of most books, either.

Change the process so that any book that is not critiqued gets approved automatically and instantly upon finishing the 300 days. This solves all of those problems, and reduces admin workload to boot. If you're worried about plagiarism and copyright issues, expand the critiquing criteria to include those and let the librarians handle it. It's a competition, so we have an incentive to be attentive and catch everything!

2. Experience for publishing