Any Excel/Access experts out there?

DaraiusDaraius ShevatThe juror's taco spot
Hey all. I'm fairly proficient with Microsoft Excel but I've never used Access before. I'm about to start a project to help me keep track of costs and contribution margins for all ingredients and products at my bakery.  

Specifically, I'm going to need to record costs per unit/pound/gram/etc for each ingredient, use those values to compute costs per batch/unit of each product, and use those values to determine contribution margins for each product sold in-store and to other vendors. Crucially, if the price of an ingredient or the selling price of a product changes, I want to be able to change just the relevant value and have all computations update accordingly.

I'm fairly sure I can do what I need using Excel, but would it be worthwhile to learn Access and build the tables there instead?
I used to make cakes.

Estarra the Eternal says, "Give Shevat the floor please."

Comments

• There are a few questions you need to ask yourself before adopting a tool for any purpose:

* Will my old tool I actually know do the job well?
    * Will this new tool make my life easier in the long run?
    * Is it going to be worth the time investment of learning the new tool?

And tying into those,

* What is the purpose of the tools?

Excel is excellent for spreadsheets and computation amongst those. If you're working with simple POD (Plain Old Data) constructs that fit well into a spreadsheet, Excel is probably one of the best tools for a task.