Why no one plays Wiccans: a perspective

CyndarinCyndarin used Flamethrower! It was super effective.
edited March 2013 in Common Grounds
Wiccans have never been a hugely popular archetype since I started playing, but as the game population has spread out to the new guilds and organizations, Wiccans have really become the most under represented archetype in the game. There are several issues I have been pondering and debating regarding the current status of the Wiccan guilds and why they trend as unpopular.

I will point out the most obvious explanation, and probably the most superficial: there are only two wiccan guilds as opposed to 4 or 6 of every other archetype. Naturally, the population will be lower. This does not, however, explain the typically very low combatant percentage of the Wiccan population. Going back to Vadi as the Champion of SD and even further to Alacardael and Nienla, in the past 18 to 24 months, there has never been more than a single truly active SD combatant at any given time. The exception being right now with Nihta and myself, which is a fairly recent occurance. Moondancers, in my observation, have been even worse off, having large periods of time where they have no combatants at all, like the present.