Newbies Out of Portals

This maybe is a question more for guides but maybe others can give me a general answer.

When a true newbie gets out of the intro, is it strikingly obvious that they should go to Newton to bash and get started? Or do we ever find newbies wandering around in cities and punching guards to see what happens?

I'm wondering if we should have more safeguards and automations that puts a newbie directly in Newton. Thoughts?

Comments

• ZyphoraZyphora :: the sun in her splendour ::
    edited November 2012
    When I was a true blue novice in Lusternia, I stepped out of the Portal of Fate and immediately spent forever trying to find out where I was and why I was on an endlessly spiraling path leading seemingly to nowhere. I didn't even know how to get to the city. I never attacked guards, but I didn't know to go to Newton until I joined again much later with a friend and they taught me how to use PORTALS. I quit after my first attempt because I was so lost, and if it hadn't been for my friend, I probably wouldn't have tried to come back.

• I don't think a true newbie is any less or any more able to find Newton than an alt. It seems to me that most true newbies are the ones that wander Avechna and can't find their way until you explain Portals to them. You might change the intro to put them directly into the Portals area, or give them a few hints that they should use PORTALS once they get out of the Portal of Fate.
  • Back when I was a newbie it really wasn't that obvious. I believe the only reason I knew was my friend who also played at the time told me to go there.