Simple questions?

Comments

• edited May 2017
    Might be a bit of a stupid question, but since there skills for relatively mundane things, is there a limit on how well versed your character can be in them without having them?

I would assume someone who is not a cook by trade can still make a nice dinner for their spouse, for example, but how acrobatic can a character be without being a monk or bard, to name an example.

Edit: Some more examples: Playing an instrument without being a bard, fencing without being a warrior.
  • On the flip side of what a character "knows", there are probably plenty of instances where someone has the mechanical skill but doesn't understand how it works.
  • Kerith said:
    On the flip side of what a character "knows", there are probably plenty of instances where someone has the mechanical skill but doesn't understand how it works.
    I know that @Breandryn is a cook mechanically but specifically designs cooking items that...well...at least she is trying to cook..
  • Does some kind of gmcp get sent when you INR and IND and INSKIN and whatnot? My client keeps hanging if I do that for large amounts and wondering if there's something being sent I can maybe fiddle with?
  • edited May 2017
    Yes, if you've enabled Char.Items, but it probably isn't the source of your hang. A gmcp.Char.Items.Remove message is sent with each item that gets inrinfted to note that it has been removed from your inventory:

j  lusterni >inr everything
    d  lusterni |[1] lusternia Comline : stopped
    a  lusterni #Telnet 201: Char.Items.Remove { "location": "inv", "item": { "id": "268526", "name": "a wafer of purity dust", "attrib": "egt" } }
    a  lusterni #Telnet 201: Char.Items.Remove { "location": "inv", "item": { "id": "268676", "name": "a sprig of chervil", "icon": "plant", "attrib": "egt" } }
  • Try disabling compression from the last tab on the settings page, Brea.