Class choice, haaalp

Hey there! I am a newbie to Lusternia and I'm trying to pick a class that isn't going to require a bank loan to be decent with. I will have 3k-ish credits from a retirement in another IRE game, and I will likely get the no-brainer lesson packs.. but I don't know about much else. Normally, in the other IRE games, I try to go with something that has good burst damage. I don't know if that's a thing here, though? Also, I think I'd like to be in the Magnagora - Gaudiguch - Glomdoring region of things. Would also like to be Dracnari, if that helps or matters. Any info \ assistance is greatly appreciated! Thank you in advance!

Answers

• XenthosXenthos Shadow Lord
    Probably not warrior right now with your stated preferences (but things on that front will hopefully change!).  Warriors are the one class without a lot of burst potential, and other classes tend to do better at it.  What warriors do best is attrition... which is not quite as useful in a group setting when targets do not stay around long enough to build up on.

Bards are generally considered to be the best "all-around" class because they can mostly do everything well, but this is also up for potential changes; there is some desire for differentiating classes a bit more so that each has a bit more of a niche.

All of that is a "maybe" though.  Nothing is set in stone for changes, but a good idea to keep in mind that this is a living game and tweaks / rebalancing does happen and what is the "best" class may change (ideally the best class would be a subjective evaluation based on how you like to play).
  • For burst damage, mages (and druids) are what you want, especially the -chem and -wood skillsets. They have big aoe 'bombs' that can be very effective. Second would be Bards. They don't have as much aoe damage, but they can set up big bursts on a single target fairly quickly if uninterrupted. Both classes can also bring a lot of other utility, especially from their tertiary skills.