Endurance and Willpower

13»

Comments

• If the goal is to make Lusternia simpler and easier to get into, Endurance and Willpower are probably at the very bottom of the list.  Achaea was my first MUD, and while I was a newbie, never once did I stop and say "what the heck is this crap?"

Same goes here.  Endurance and Willpower aren't confusing, they're just annoying.  If you want to make Lusternia easier to get into, I'd suggest looking elsewhere (though my honest suggestion is to not go this route at all; the complexity of Lusternian combat [and everything else, for the matter] is a key selling point on it over the other IREs, if you ask me).

But, if you wanna get of it so I can inscribe more than 200 Tarot cards a night, go for it.
  • I don't think endurance and willpower add anything especially meaningful or important to the game; therefore, I support their removal.

• Eventru said:
    It's important to remember the goal - make Lusternia simpler and easier to get into. Would removing Endurance/Willpower make the game simpler, and what are the pros and cons of it (months of rebalancing and dozens of cooldowns, limited uses, new mechanics to achieve the effect willpower has now, etc seem like they might fall under 'cons').
    I'm thinking the cons will prevent it from being simpler, tbh, and will have to agree with Daedalion and Rivius. I'll also echo Liok here, in that I didn't really pay much attention to endurance and willpower until at least a few weeks into things.

The only particular issues I see end/wp making are:

- Capping how long newbies with low discipline/resilience can bash
    - Limiting how much people can get out of tarot/runes/etc

Which are easy enough to address without going through the whole fuss and affair of removing end/wp from the game. Even then, they don't really make the game that much more complex or confusing. They're just annoying.