Targeting?

I'm new to MUDs and I know nothing about coding, so trying to make the game comfortable for me to play by messing with things feels like trying to write a poem in a language I don't know.

I know what I want to do though:

I saw this video explaining about data capture, and I thought that it would be nice if by sending the command KILL I would receive back a list of the monsters in the room, in which each mob would be linked to an variable, like:

-KILL
Here are some people and creatures that you can attack:
1-DOG, 2-CAT, 3-SATAN

-KK M3 (KK=my attack, m3=satan)

The thing is, I'd like that I would be able to start using an alias for an attack, but then after attacking with an alias, I would like to be able to use hotkeys to keep attacking the same mob. As you can see I'm not interested in autobashers, I'm fine in being the one pressing buttons, picking the targets, etc. I want to be able to set things this way because with this I probably(I think) wouldn't need to change things for hunting ever again.

I tried setting things on my on, but I wasn't even able to set the data capture right, I thought it was because the id of the mob was set between "()" and if I put that thingie thing "(\w+)" inside of it I would need to put like this ^\((\w+)\)$ because I think I read you need to put \ before things that can also be accepted as commands. But even doing that it didn't work.

If anyone could help me out, that would be great. If someone knows of something someone put up that does the same thing, that's also great. Until then I think I'll be using nexus client to play.

PS: Forgive me if what I wrote sounds like nonsense, english is not my native language, and I'm really talking about something beyond my understanding.

Comments