Best way to deal with OOC comments.

Hi, guys. Quick question. I have an eager newbie here, but said person needs a few pointers. I'd mostly just like to know how most people deal with the likes of:

<person> says, "How would I find a room number?"

While obviously completely OOC, I'd dearly love a way to turn this into IC interaction/RP.

Thanks.

Comments

• <person> smiles with a wink and says, "It is a pleasure to meet you also. I have seen you around. I am trying not to bother people too much much with my noob questions."

Pl2halp! :(
  • Best I came up with in the interim was this (Didn't want to leave her waiting):

You tell <person>, "Just a quick pointer for you. Using the word 'noob' is considered out of character. When you get a moment, if you might peruse over
    HELP OOC, it will help you massively. As for learning, if you might kindly take a look at an excellent scroll we have available: CGHELP LEARNING. It will provide much insight. If there are any questions you have, however, please don't hesitate to ask."

Did I deal with this right? *hope*
  • Unfortunately, there's always a little bit of an OOC aspect when teaching true newbies, as  at some point they'll need help with mechanical stuff and for some of it, like aliases and room numbers and the like, you have to discuss it with them ooc.

Just take the really atmosphere-breaking stuff to tells, and gently as you can, direct them to HELP OOC if they are having a hard time grasping the "keep mechanical stuff private"

With a few exceptions, you can keep orientations IC for the vast majority of the learning process.
    A whisper from the trees and a frosty presence tells you, secretly, "But you are strong, little 
    flower, and wise." The voice shifts and expands, becoming more real. "And everything you just said 
    in the ritual made me feel safer. You should, too."