Uncomfortable Requests

TacitaTacita <3s Xynthin 4eva!!!11
edited March 2014 in Common Grounds
Today I was asked in-character to do something that I was exceptionally uncomfortable with on an OOC level.

I do my best to avoid OOC drama. This means that sometimes I have to get out of situations where people on either side are invoking metagaming (both as a weapon and as a defence). Don't get me wrong, I love roleplaying drama. But that's just it. I love roleplaying drama. Sometimes what you're doing isn't roleplaying.

I got ordered to lead an investigation into something that I know involves this sort of issue. I have been forced to refuse ICly, because I know what will happen if I pursue it: I will investigate and before too long someone will invoke metagaming. And I have no IC response to this. How could I?

I'm not good at confrontation, and I accept that a lot of the failing here may be in me for that reason. But I wanted to post this here both as an OOC explanation to those involved as to why I have had to refuse a direct order that Tacita normally would have carried out to the letter, and as a plea to people to just...just stop doing whatever it is you're doing that has riled this up. I don't know the details and I don't care, it's not about pointing fingers at anyone. Just please - forget about whatever's happened and go back to roleplaying.

I am not posting this because I want to make a fuss. I just want my in-character reaction to be better explained by this one.

Comments

• ShaddusShaddus , the Leper Messiah Outside your window.
    When in doubt, moar Maerad.