Guilds, mandatory or political?

I am new to Lusternia and I am trying to figure out what benefits being in a guild are, over just being a part of a commune or city. Do you lose certain abilities if you aren't in a guild? I have no problem with a guild system, it is just I am a much more "This is my home I protect it with others that are in my home" over a "I am a part of this group, my life is dedicated to this group". Not saying I don't think the guilds are very welcoming from what I have seen, but I am more of a loner and want to strike out and make my own path instead of just following in the footsteps that are placed before me set up by the rules of a group I seemingly HAVE to be a part of. Am I misunderstanding this concept or what? 

Comments

• TacitaTacita <3s Xynthin 4eva!!!11
    edited April 2014
    Guild skills are your primary skills within the game, used for PvE, PvP and other utility. Without them you will only be able to very ineffectually kick and punch people or jab with basic weapons, which isn't really very viable. So, yes, there's a huge disbenefit if you're not a member of one. It is possible to be guildless and there are people that do it, but it's a very hard thing to do.

It is however possible to be within a guild, part of its identity, and still be a 'loner' or more reclusive. There are some guilds whose RP will enable this less and some who will enable it more, of course. I know plenty of people who are in guilds but keep to themselves :)

If you have a specific city/commune in mind, maybe people can give you more specific advice about which guilds would be a good place for you to do this. At a guess, I'd say mage/druid might be a good option for you, based on the RP you've outlined.
  • EnyalidaEnyalida Nasty Woman, Sockpuppeteer to the Gods
    Guilds are basically mandatory, yes.