Events both big and small

So this is actually something I've been thinking about for a little bit, not just for recent reasons. Shortly after I started playing again, I tried inviting people to the recording of a performance I'd made by picking a time I'd seen people around in my org, and posting about it to the newsboards a couple of days in advance. I even collared a couple of people and had them promise to show up. Date I'd picked the attendance was 0, although there were several people on CWHO, although none of them responded to CT.

I don't know if this is just a my playtime no longer lining up with Serenwilde's peak, people not reading the news anymore, Serenwilde just not being very populated right now, or what. I'm not posting this to complain, I'm more interested in getting perspectives from other people in various orgs about what works and what doesn't when running events from "hey, there's four of us, grab your ritual book and meet at the tower" to org-wide festivals that last a couple of months.

Do you have more success scheduling something in advance? Waiting until x number of people are online and running it spontaneously? What do you do if you can't get people together? An actor/the person who was supposed to run Y event falls through? How do you handle it if revolts/flares happen? 

Also funny stories are always fun.

Comments

• For stage work, I think it is more of schedule it when you can get your actors together and hope for the best. As for revolts/flares, these are be predicted with some degree. As such, don't schedule your stuff around when they could happen.

For having people show up to stage work, you can word your announcement over CT in a way that makes it seem required (something like 'Everyone should report to the stage for X'). Beyond that, you could always force-move people to the stage as well if that's your thing.
  • AeldraAeldra , using cake powered flight