Noob here, Aero questions

Hi! So I just created and I'm enjoying getting myself lost in Hallifax anytime I walk anywhere. Slowly learning my stuff, and I've been trying to plan ahead towards what I want to specaliize in. My biggest question, is aeromancy or aerochemantics. I've found a few posts about the later, apparently at the skill's release, that suggests its fun as well as strong, but it doesn't seem like anyone is one these days.

Which would you recommend I pick, and why? I doubt I'll get much into player combat, so I'm more wondering which is more fun/useful/interesting outside of that.

Hope this was the right forums to ask in, thanks!

Comments

• QistrelQistrel the hemisemidemifink
    The Chem skills are all pretty cool, but suffer from you needing to collect large amounts of elemental essence in order to use your things.

There are a lot of Geochems in Mag, to the point that it can often be hard to find a Geomancer that used normal Geomancy. So there are people who can put up with the essence thing. The other mage guilds seem to have less chem (possibly because their chems are not steampunk cyborgs toting magnum blasters).

• I've noticed that many skills I currently have access to, have almost no effect on npcs. Do any of the aerochem skills effect npcs? 

I also suppose I should mention I'm taking psionics into prolly telekinesis. If the skills synergize at all in some way.
  • The only things that affect NPCs are damage abilities. All classes only have pretty much their main "damage" ability to affect NPCs with. Nothing else will.

• Oh, just to add in. While yeah gathering essence is one option (and the "free" option) each guild should also have a special vendor that sells a substance that you can use instead of essence.

A benefit for Aeromancy would be that you can "condensate" making the room "cloudy" and activating your level 50 perk for lucidian giving you a little damage buff.