Broken targeter

edited April 2013 in Mechanic's Corner
Hello :)

I am not a coder but some time ago people helped me make a targeter and a staff cast alias.
The targeter went with x <something> and it also highlighted the target, while ff was my staffcast.

Unfortunately, I couldn't recover the proper lines (since they had to be edited many times in the process), rather found a copy of them before being fully polished.

And I am afraid my targeter doesn't even work anymore :/

So I will be more than grateful if someone can help me out ^.^

Thanks in advance.

P.S. I am using Mudlet.

-------
pattern: ^x (.+)$

Target = matches[2]

sysEcho("info", " target set:" .. string.title(target))

if id then killTrigger(id) end

id = tempTrigger(target, [[selectString("]] .. target .. [[", 1) fg("gold") resetFormat()]])

-----

pattern: ^ff( \w+)?$

if matches[2] then

send("point staff " .. matches[2])

else

send("point staff " .. target)

end

Comments

• How doesn't it work? Does it print the info line when you set a target? Can you staffcast with a specified target, but not with the set target?

With a quick lookthrough, it might be that it says "Target = matches[2]". Not sure if Mudlet is sensitive to capitalisation; if so, it should probably say "target" instead of "Target".
  • edited April 2013
    When I x something:
    1) It doesn't hightlight it
    2) It doesn't target it at all

I can staffcast manualy so I guess the problem is within the targeter itself.

So I did what you suggested - removed the capital "T" - now it targets. Though it still doesn't highlight =)
  • I'm guessing the highlighting comes from this line:

id = tempTrigger(target, [[selectString("]] .. target .. [[", 1) fg("gold") resetFormat()]])

That being said... I've no clue what's wrong with it.
  • Depending on what you're targetting, it may not be highlighting due to trying to compare something like "ssaliss" to "Ssaliss", which doesn't actually match due to case differences.