City Aethers

So I am really curious what the attitude and style of everyone's city aether is like. I have not had to alt and spy on the other orgs after I started playing again but I've noticed that Magnagora's city aether has become really relaxed. A lot of slang, talking mechanics, people just ranting or bullshitting over CT. It's not exactly bad but it's really different from what I remember and really weird to me. An active CT is great but when most of it is not really IC or furthering RP it is kind of jarring. Are most of the orgs like this? Are other places doing it differently? (I already know I'm a grump so no worries, no need to let me know)

Comments

• XenthosXenthos Shadow Lord
    edited February 2016
    Glomdoring's is IC.  Magnagora has (for a couple of RL years at least) considered certain aethers (like squads) to be OOC.  I've had to let people know, when they come to Glomdoring, that we don't have the same view of them.  Perhaps that is just kind of creeping further to other aethers?  Can't really say, I cannot see Mag's CT at all, so I do not know what they're doing.

I would think that if it got too out of hand on CT that the admin would start docking rolepoints, however.
  • It's not OOC but it's also not always IC if that makes sense. It can just get really casual and slangy and rubbing up against just being an OOC channel. 
  • Phoebus said:
    I know exactly what you mean. I alted in Magnagora for a bit a few months ago, and between multiple people attempting to screw me just because I was playing a furry race and the borderline OOC attitude on the city aether (and outright OOC discussion in squads,) I felt disinclined to continue there. Very much different from how I remember it being years ago on my Geomancer. I have not experienced this in any other org I've played in within the past few months (can't speak for Celest, only place I've not poked around in since coming back.)