Problem: The Economy

12346»

Comments

• Luce said:
    Honestly one of the main concerns for using commodity costs as a baseline is that some professions alter the cost, either by making something that lasts longer (creating more value per commodity spent) or by making something for fewer effective commodities based on whether you have the artifact. As an example, I'm a chef with a spatula but (and I'm just picking on someone at random here and have no idea if they are a chef or have a spatula) Kalnid is a chef who does not. For 20 meat, 3 veg, 2 grain, Kalnid can, at Transcendent skill level, produce 2 or rarely 3 platters per COOK, and probably ~10 rounds of COOKing per coal spent. For the same 20 meat, 3 veg, 2 grain, I produce between 4-6 with a reliable 4 and an uncommon 5 plus the odd 6. In the same amount of time, I can produce about 45-50 more platters than Kalnid. If I push for balance bonuses, I can also squeeze a few more COOK commands per coal burned, which is going to factor into my costs overall. In order for Kalnid and I to be competitive, he has to take a loss on commodity costs.
    It's less egregious for some professions like Tailoring and Forging, but even in those, the market price will be set by the tradesman with the artifact, and novices/those without 200-400 credits to burn have a much harder time making a profit, if they can do so at all.
    Moving commodities to a time investment rather than a gold one would certainly help in that regard, but only if we (the players) self-police to prevent spatulas from bringing the price of bread to a single sovereign per loaf.
    With more complexity the current artifacts could be repurposed to provide a benefit within the system though, like the spoon arti might be repurposed to enable you to refine certain special materials in your orgs kitchen without having to travel around. If there's some form of minigame you could have artifacts that make it easier, just depends on how the system is designed.